top of page

Journalism Student Grants

In the mid-1970s, the 8 Ball Emergency Fund for Journalists (previously known as the 8 Ball Welfare Foundation) approved a second, related mission, awarding limited and smaller grants to journalism students.  This is only done when the board determines sufficient funding remains after providing grants to working journalists.  

Over the years we have provided help to students in need at the following Southern California schools: 

Los Angeles City College, Santa Monica City College 

El Camino College, Cerritos College

Cal State University, Long Beach  

Cal State University, Northridge

Cal State University, Fullerton

California State University, Los Angeles

Cal Lutheran University, East Los Angeles College

Pasadena City College, Pierce College

Mount San Antonio College, 

Loyola Marymount University 

Los Angeles Valley College

USC, Glendale Community College

Rio Hondo College

El Camino 02.jpg

El Camino Community College


Students Eddy Cermeno, Delfino Camacho, 

Samantha Quinonez, Anthony Lipari and Igor Colonno 

receive their 8-Ball checks 

from Board Member Bob Tarlau


2021 CSULB - Joy Rowden.jpg

Cal Lutheran University


Students Obinna Anyanwu and Austin Gregory are joined

by 8 Ball's Bob Tarlau and David Grannis,

CLU Associate Professor of Film and Television.


Cal State University

Long Beach 2021

Fourth-year journalism student Joy Rowden receives

her 8 Ball grant check from Treasurer Doug Smith.


2021 PCC (1).jpeg
2021 PCC (2).jpeg

Pasadena City College


8 Ball Board member Jeff Nguyen presents student grants to:  

Eva Ortega, PCC Courier Editor-in-Chief and Kevin Seavers, PCC Managing Editor.  Nathan McIntire, the Courier's adviser is at right.


2021 East Los Angeles College.jpg

East Los Angeles College


Board chairman Tony Valdez joins Professor Jean Stapleton in presenting grant checks to members of the Campus News.


2021 CSUN

Cal State University



Seniors Michaella Huck and Sade Richardson receive their grant checks.  

Journalism Chair/Professor Linda Bowen joined Board Member

Bob Tarlau at the presentation.


2021 LACC_edited.jpg

Los Angeles City College


Staff members of LACC's award-winning newspaper, The Collegian, receive their 8 Ball Emergency Fund for Journalists grants.   Tony Valdez, the 8 Ball Chairman, is standing in the center in the back row.   LACC Journalism Professor Rhonda Guess is the second person to the right of Tony.  Photo by:  Louis White, The Collegian


2021 Pierce.jpg

Los Angeles Pierce College


Students Trisha Anas, left, and Cecilia Parada 8 Ball representative Reed Saxon, Media Arts Department chair

Jill Connelly and Associate Professor of Journalism Jeff Favre, right.  (Photo by Jasmine Casanova).


bottom of page